Racing cars

Aussie Racing Cars series announced for 2021


Australian racing cars. Image: digital realism

Battery World Aussie Racing Cars management has decided that the titles will not be awarded this year after confirming that there will be no more rounds in 2021.

Due to ongoing travel restrictions, only three tours have taken place this year, compared to an initial schedule of six.

Kody Garland, who won his first race in the category at the start of the season in Bathurst in February, was the Championship scorer of the year.

He and the other top drivers for 2021 will still be presented with special trophies in honor of their accomplishments, at a virtual trophy presentation later this month.

Besides Bathurst, Aussie Racing Cars also visited Symmons Plains in April and Sydney Motorsport Park in May.

Border restrictions will remain problematic for some states across the country even in December, which is believed to have played a role in the decision to end the competition now.

Those who were rookies this year will retain this status for the 2022 campaign.

Class leaders

Championship: Kody Garland (121.5 points)
Masters Cup: Adam Clark (52.5 points)
Gold Cup: Craig Thompson (57.5 points)
Women’s Cup: Charlotte Poynting (88 points)
Rookie: Tom Hayman (53.5 points)